Monday, April 19, 2010

Upcoming Readings Fall 2017

Sept 19, 2017
Ben Berman  --Ben Berman’s first book, Strange Borderlands (Able Muse Press, 2012), won the Peace Corps Award for Best Book of Poetry and was a finalist for the Massachusetts Book Awards. His second book is Figuring in the Figure, forthcoming from Able Muse Press in 2017. He has received awards from the New England Poetry Club and fellowships from the Massachusetts Cultural Council and Somerville Arts Council. He is the poetry editor at Solstice Literary Magazine and teaches in the Boston area, where he lives with his wife and daughters.

Richard Waring--- 
Richard Waring’s poems have appeared in the Comstock Review, Chest, Sanctuary, Contact II, Dark Horse, the American Journal of Nursing,Mothering, Inward Springs, the Journal of the American Medical Association,and other publications. Richard has a B.A. in English Literature from Drew University and attended the Jack Kerouac School of Disembodied Poetics at Naropa Institute, where he studied the poetry of William Carlos Williams with Allen Ginsberg. From 1982 to 1988. He is a senior layout artist for the New England Journal of Medicine. His latest collection is  What Love Tells Me.

Clara Silverstein---Clara Silverstein is the author of four books, a blogger about historic recipes at, and a long-time writer in the Boston area. She has taught at Grub Street, Inc., consulted with individual writers, and worked with young adults as a tutor and at the Books of Hope literacy empowerment program. From 2008 to 2017, she directed the Chautauqua Writers' Center, which sponsors creative writing workshops and author programs at the Chautauqua Institution.

Oct 10, 2017

Anna M. Warrock--Anna M. Warrock's publications include the chapbooks From the Other Room, winner of the first Slate Roof Press Chapbook Contest; Horizon; and Smoke and Stone. Her work appears in the anthology Kiss Me Goodnight: Poems and Stories by Women Who Were Girls When Their Mothers Died, Minnesota Book Award Finalist, for which she also wrote the introduction.

Sarah Snyder- Sarah Dickenson Snyder has a full-length collection of poetry, The Human Contract, from Aldrich Press, and her chapbook, Notes from a Nomad, is forthcoming from Finishing Line Press in 2017. She was selected to be part of the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference and has had poems published recently in The Comstock Review, Damfino Press, The Main Street Rag, Passager, and other journals. In May of 2016, she was a 30/30 Poet for Tupelo Press.

Ed Meek is a poet and writer. He is the author of the poetry collections "Spy Pond" and "What We Love, and" "Luck," a collection of short stories, which was published in 2017. He lives in Somerville with his wife, Elizabeth.

Nov 14, 2017

Wendy Drexler--Wendy Drexler’s third poetry collection, Before There Was Before, was published in March by Iris Press. She is also the author of Western Motel (Turning Point, 2012), and a chapbook, Drive-ins, Gas Stations, the Bright Motels (Pudding House, 2007). Her poems have appeared in Barrow Street, Ibbetson Street, Nimrod, Off the Coast, Prairie Schooner, Salamander, The Mid-American Review, The Hudson Review, The Worcester Review, Valparaiso Poetry Review, and other journals. Her work has been featured on Verse DailyWBUR’s Cognoscenti, and in numerous anthologies.

Margaret Young--  Margaret Young is the author of the poetry collection " Blight Summer" (Finishing Line Press).  Young grew up in Oberlin, Ohio. After graduating from Yale, she worked in a traveling theater company before earning an M.A. in creative writing at the University of California, Davis.  She has taught and done residencies in many settings, and earned an Individual Artist Grant from the Ohio Arts Council in 2005. Her first poetry collection, Willow from the Willow, was published by Cleveland State University Press in 2002. Her most recent collection, Almond Town, appeared with Bright Hill Press in 2011.  She teaches at Endicott College and was recently appointed to the faculty of the Global Center for Advanced Studies.

Scott Ruescher--  Scott Ruescher won the 2013 Erika Mumford Prize for poetry about travel and international culture from the New England Poetry Club for “Looking for Lorca”—one of the eleven poems in his chapbook Perfect Memory (Finishing Line Press, 2015). Some of the other poems have appeared in Tower Journal, Naugatuck River Review, In My Bed, Harvard Educational Review, and the Larcom Review. His chapbook Sidewalk Tectonics was released by Pudding House Publications in 2009. Ruescher coordinates the Arts in Education program at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and teaches in the Boston University Prison Education program